Welcome to the Appalachian Mountain Club!

Forever on the Mountain

The Truth Behind One of Mountaineering's Most Controversial and Mysterious Disasters

In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded at 20,000 feet on Alaska's Mount McKinley in a vicious Arctic storm. Ten days passed while the storm raged, yet no rescue was mounted. All seven perished in what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history.


Revisitng the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean's Young Men and Fire, James M. Tabor uncovers elements of controversy, finger-pointing, and cover-up that make this disaster unlike any other.



Author(s)

James M. Tabor

Availability: In Stock

$17.95
Member Price: $16.15

In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded at 20,000 feet on Alaska's Mount McKinley in a vicious Arctic storm. Ten days passed while the storm raged, yet no rescue was mounted. All seven perished in what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history.

Revisitng the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean's Young Men and Fire, James M. Tabor uncovers elements of controversy, finger-pointing, and cover-up that make this disaster unlike any other.

Additional Information

Author James M. Tabor
About the Author

James M. Tabor, a former contributing editor to Outside, has attempted Mount McKinley and summitted Mount Sanford. He earned the Banff Mountain Book Festival Grand Prize, a Barnes & Noble Discover selection, and a National Outdoor Book Award for Forever on the Mountain.

Publisher W.W. Norton
Format Paperback
Dimensions 6 x 9 inches, 400 pages
ISBN-13 9780393331967

About the Author

James M. Tabor, a former contributing editor to Outside, has attempted Mount McKinley and summitted Mount Sanford. He earned the Banff Mountain Book Festival Grand Prize, a Barnes & Noble Discover selection, and a National Outdoor Book Award for Forever on the Mountain.

You may also be interested in the following product(s)